Lemon pound cake

IMG_2035

With not a lot to do on my day off, and a whole bunch of left-over lemons from Red Robin (so that I could do this, but then Ethan threw my seeds away . . .), I decided to make a lemon pound cake.

I found this recipe using Supercook, an excellent website that needs an app like yesterday. Basically, it allows to load up all the ingredients you do have, and scours the web for recipes you can make. If you make a profile, it’ll save your ingredients, so that you don’t have to enter “salt and pepper” every time. Not only is it fun on days where you just get a hankerin’ to whip something up, but don’t want to drive to the grocery store, but it was also a life saver in college when I had zero money for groceries. Just load up all the ingredients you have (ex: mayonnaise, mustard, 1 egg, some flour, some cereal, dry spaghetti, a few potatoes . . .) and you’re guaranteed to have something worth eating (Oh yeah! I could make potato salad!).

IMG_2037

Wet first: butter, sugar, and eggs, one at a time. I always look up why wet and dry are separate and then blended, and why it’s so important to do one egg at a time, but then I always forget. I wasn’t going to do it again this time, but then I thought, someone could learn something today and maybe not forget it.

From The Reluctant Gourmet:

So why combine ingredients this way? The initial creaming of the fat with the sugar creates lots of little air bubbles (fewer for cookies, many more for cakes). The sharp edges of the sugar actually cut into the butter and create a bunch of little air pockets. Upon heating, the air in the pockets expands, helping the dough/batter to rise.

Beating the eggs in early allows even more air to be whipped in (think of meringue) in the initial mixing stages. In the creaming method, it is very important that you do not skimp on the creaming of the fats/sugar/eggs. The more air pockets you have to begin with, the more rise you will get, regardless of how much baking powder or baking soda you add to the batter.

Thanks, Reluctant Gourmet!

Another note: I make lots of replacements in these recipes, depending on how I’m feeling / what I have / my misconceptions about the importance of the original ingredient. I like to keep my diet as animal-free as I can, mostly because the animal products I do feel comfortable buying are very expensive (see the cage-free, organic eggs above, which are still not preferable to, but perhaps more practical than, driving 4 hours to my mom’s hobby farm in Smithville, TN to pick some up). For this recipe, I used margarine instead of genuine cow’s butter, and I had some trouble with the “wet” separating, so be sure to re-beat everything when you add the dry, should you choose to use it, too.

IMG_2038

Here I am making vanilla yogurt because I didn’t have any. Also, I used Greek yogurt instead of plain. Because why not. Also, that’s all that Ethan had. Thanks, Ethan!

A riddle: How many lemon wedges does it take to squeeze 1 tbsp of lemon juice? Answer: Always more than you have.

IMG_2040

Another riddle: How many lemon wedges does it take to produce 1 tbsp of lemon “zest”? A: Never.

IMG_2041

For optimal results, watch Hell’s Kitchen and drink plenty of wine.

IMG_2044

Should you find yourself up against gnats while baking this summer, the lid of your baking powder can makes a convenient and reliable gnat-guard.

IMG_2045

IMG_2046

IMG_2048

IMG_2054

I left the oven to go pick at some dinner and practice piano. As I was practicing, I started to smell this beauty, and I could barely wait. When I finally got to open the door I was all like . . .

Aaaaaawww shiiittttt, son . . . !

IMG_2055

IMG_2056

IMG_2059

A little dark around some of the edges, because our oven is a piece of shit. Still delicious. I ate like 1/4 of the loaf last night. Be jelly. I did not, however, make the “candied lemons” for the top.

poundcakeafter

Leave a Reply

